The Heart Horse.

Almost every girl goes through the horse phase at some point during their childhood. But what happens if the obsession never leaves?

My name is Rachel Pleasant, I have been an avid equestrian for many years and proudly own an off-the-track Thoroughbred previously named I’mfixin’to.  I bought this mare in the summer of 2016 and lovingly renamed her Bailey.  I will be posting my stories of our journey from the racetrack to the show ring.

20902610_163908337516780_1629848185121800192_n

Bailey and I enjoying an afternoon ride in July 2017.

But first, a little back story.

In the late summer of 2012 I embarked on a rewarding adventure that represents a big part of my equestrian career.  At this point in my life, I had been taking weekly riding lessons for eight years and dreamed of owning my first horse.  My parents realized my dedication and agreed to purchase a horse for my fifteenth birthday on a budget of $1000.

The horse industry is a built on the sport of kings, making markets for the most talented well-bred equines astronomical.  With this in mind, and being the determined rider I am, my attention focused to finding a fixer-upper type of horse.  A diamond in the rough, which came in the form of a middle aged, chestnut Quarter Horse mare named Candy Bar.

img_7961

Candy Bar and I at the beginning of her training in August 2012.

Her sweet name masked the stubborn attitude she possessed which made training a constant battle.  Even so, I was determined to unlock the underlying potential I saw in this broodmare with no previous training.  Three years later, Candy and I were competing and winning against some of the best horses in the region on the ETHJA circuit.

For those who may be unfamiliar with the sport, hunt seat riding is judged on the style and consistency of which a horse jumps a series of fences.  A horse and rider who can execute a course effortlessly have the most chance of winning points from the judge. After a set number of jumping rounds, the group of competitors will then enter the show ring together and be judged on their equitation and the horse’s gaits.  The points from each judge are then tallied to crown a champion and reserve champion of each recognized division.

 

img_0091.png

Candy Bar and I competing.

In 2015, Candy and I accomplished a huge dream of mine which was to win awards for the divisions we had competed in during the year.  After countless competitions, Candy was awarded 2015 Special Hunter division champion and I was awarded 2015 15-17 Equitation division champion.  The accomplishment I felt at the ETHJA awards banquet is a feeling of pride that will stay with me forever.  This stubborn horse and I built a relationship that allowed us to work together in order to accomplish a childhood dream.

 

img_7977

In December 2015 I attended the ETHJA awards banquet at the Park Vista Hotel in Gatlinburg, Tennessee.

The following spring, I sold Candy to a grateful little girl who caught the horse bug just like I did so many years ago.  I had fulfilled my dream of unlocking Candy’s potential and it was now time for her to teach another young rider and for me to begin college in the fall.

img_8024

Candy’s personality and intelligence blossomed over time and teaching her tricks, such as smiling, became easy.

After a year of focusing on school I made the decision to embark on yet another equestrian adventure.  This time with a quirky, four year old ex-race horse who’s only form of previous training is galloping in a counter-clockwise circle.  Am I crazy to think I could do this a second time?

Follow our blog and you be the judge.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment